Series 11

Series 12

Series 13

Series 18

Series 21

Series 22

EditionsComposersNew EditionsOrderAbout GirolamoContactHome

G 12.017 CoverFrancesco Turini (approx. 1589–1656)
Sinfonia e Sonata

for 2 recorders in c (violins) and basso continuo
Edited by Franz Müller-Busch
Realization of the thorough bass by Eckhart Kuper

Girolamo G 12.017, score and 3 parts, € 16,00
ISMN 979-0-50084-030-5

sample page

G 12.016 G 12.018






Francesco Turini was born about 1589 in Prague, where he received tuition in singing, composition and the organ from his father Gregorio. Already at the age of twelve he became court organist to the Emperor Rudolf II, who later sent him on a study visit to Rome and Venice. Up till Rudolf II’s death in 1612 Turini lived in Prague and then returned to Italy, where he worked at first in Venice. In 1620 he was appointed cathedral organist in Brescia, a position which he held until his death in 1656.

These two pieces have been taken from a publication which appeared in 1624 and is preserved in the Civico Museo Bibliografico Musicale di Bologna. The part-books bear the title:

Madrigali / a una, due, tre, voci / Con alcune Sonate à due, & à tre. / Libro Primo. /
di Francesco Turini / Organista del Duomo di Brescia. /
dedicati / al et Signor il Signor / Lodovico Gonzaga / Marchese, Vescovo d’Alba. /
Nuovamente Ristampati. / Stampa del Gardano. /
in Venetia Appresso Bartholomeo Magni. MDCXXIV.

The annotation “Nuovamente Ristampati” indicates that this must be at least the second or, even more probably, the third edition of the original publication of 1621.

In the four purely instrumental pieces in the publication the two upper voices are marked “Violino”. However, from the choice of range and musical language they can equally well be played by other instruments such as descant or tenor recorders.

The notation for the present edition has been brought into line with modern practice, especially in the use of bar lines and accidentals. Moreover a ground bass realisation has been added by Eckhart Kuper. Corrections and amendments are indicated in the footnotes. Other publisher’s additions are clearly marked as such.

Translation: John Whybrow

Freiburg, January 2001, Franz Müller-Busch