Series 11

Series 12

Series 13

Series 18

Series 21

Series 22

EditionsComposersNew EditionsOrderAbout GirolamoContactHome

G 12.031 CoverRainer Lischka (b. 1942)
Small Evening Party (2008)

for tenor recorder (soprano recorder) solo

Girolamo G 12.031, playing score, € 14,00
ISMN 979-0-50084-050-3

sample page

G 12.030 G 12.032




This suite composed in 2008 was inspired by the in Dresden living recorder teacher Gabriela Richter and resulted from a productive collaboration. The suite was designed for her advanced student Franz Bergan and was first performed by him with great success during the regional German musical youth competition Jugend musiziert in 2009. Along with his programme of works he was delegated to the final round on national level.

The movements can be performed in the indicated order but can also be played at random. The titles refer to special types of characters that are portrayed in a humorous manner.

– The Charmer
– The Careless
– The Chatterbox and the Taciturn
– The Capricious Princess
– The Pompous


Rainer Lischka was born on 25th April 1942 in Zittau. After his Abitur he studied at the Carl Maria von Weber music academy in Dresden. Amongst his teachers were Johannes Paul Thilman, Manfred Weiss, Günter Hörig and Conny Odd (composition) and Theo Other and Wolfgang Plehn (piano).

From 1970 to 2007 he taught composition, music theory and solfège at the music academy in Dresden. In 1987 he was appointed lecturer and in 1992 professor of composition at the same institute where he worked until 2007.

A characteristic property of Lischka’s music is the strong rhythmical aspect. His work is often vibrant and dance-like. In his numerous pieces for the young it is apparent how his sense of humour comes to the fore. He was awarded first prizes at the international Kinderlied competitions of the OIRT in Budapest, Berlin and Warsaw. He looks back on many years of fruitful collaboration between the children’s choir of the Dresdner Philharmonie and its director Jürgen Becker.

Numerous of his chamber- and orchestral works were premiered successfully by the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden and the Dresdner Philharmonie (orchestral work Akzente (Accents); concert for trombone and orchestra; concert in two movements for trumpet, violin, viola and orchestra; Tresillo-concertino for trumpet and chamber orchestra).

In 1986 he was awarded the Martin-Andersen-Nexö art prize from the city of Dresden for his complete œuvre.

Translation: Julia Whybrow